top of page

2023 Tournament of Writers Winners

2023 Judges' Choice Grand Prize

Echo Chamber by Rick Chambers

Gilbert & Ivy Youth Award

The Monster and the Girl by Hannah Laughery

2023 Award Winners - Fiction


First Place


Junior Division - Finch High Above by Gabbi Kirchner

Young Adult Division - Egyptian Refuge by Shelbie Walton

Adult Division - Picking up the New Trumpeter by Ross Landers

Senior Division - Echo Chamber by Rick Chambers


Second Place


Junior Division - Moon Bloom by Samantha Ball

Young Adult Division - Frost by Wyatt Walton

Adult Division - Timeless Love by Simon Thalmann

Senior Division - The Angel from Brainerd by Francis Kartch


Third Place


Junior Division - The World Behind the Reflection by Jerzie Harp

Young Adult Division - Words for the End by Alex Roberts

Adult Division - Recursive by Dustin Colwell

Senior Division - Those Lying Eyes by Nancy Smith

2023 Award Winners - Nonfiction


First Place


Junior Division – Schools Need More Recess by Lillian Ross

Young Adult Division – My Sister was an Only Child by Emilie Helmbold

Adult Division – A Trip Down the Pine River by Kristin Youngs

Senior Division – Mapping Reality: Life, Earth, and Everything by Mark Stucky 


Second Place


Junior Division - All About Me by Eleanor Ross

Adult Division – Boys Don’t Cry by Ashley Porter

Senior Division – Grouse Hunting Hysteria by Dan Knasel 


Third Place


Adult Division – Spark and Flicker by Simon Thalmann

Senior Division- Father’s Whiskey Bottle by Bonnie Oswalt

2023 Award Winners – Poetry


First Place


Junior Division – Ode to a Yellow Pencil by Noelle Germay

Young Adult Division – The Monster and the Girl by Hannah Laughery

Adult Division - Hope by Carolyn Adams

Senior Division – Doc in a Box by Carol Braymer 


Second Place


Junior Division - Under Summer’s Wing by Hayden Moden

Young Adult Division – Take the Sun by Ashley Gerber

Adult Division – She and Me by Ashley Porter

Senior Division – An Unanswerable Question by Charles Crouch


Third Place


Junior Division - My Yellow Summer Dress by Hayden McCarty

Young Adult Division – Acceptance? No Foolishness? by Kaylen Holden-Pierce

Adult Division - Lifetime by Dustin Colwell

Senior Division - Waiting by Jo Wiley


2022 Winners

Small Town Anthology Anthology Volume VIII: Entries

from the Eighth Annual Tournament of Writers BUY NOW>>

2021 Winners

Small Town Anthology Volume VII: Entries from the Seventh Annual Tournament of Writers BUY NOW >>

2020 Winners

Small Town Anthology vol. VI: Entries from the Sixth Annual Tournament of Writers BUY NOW>>

bottom of page